Cinnamon-Apple Cake, yes please!

img_2214.jpg

I love baking! One of the main reasons is the awesome aromas that invariably fill your house / apartment whenever you’ve got something in the oven. I would be in heaven if I could come up with a reason to bake something new every day, seriously (not that I’ve got the time). It’s a sense of home and comfort that really comes from nothing else. And I truly like baking more for other people than I do for myself, because it’s an opportunity to show others that you care about them and that you were willing to spend time on them. I suppose this is revealing my domestic side, but then I never claimed to not have one, in fact I’m rather proud of the domestic skills I do have and the pleasure that I take in some of the activities that others consider to be downright drudgery. Granted, I don’t have to do this every day and I am generally only taking care of myself, but at the moment things like baking and cooking seem more like fun and adventure than like a chore.
This evening I tried a new recipe, in honor of Halloween, for Cinnamon-Apple Cake (I’ll add the link so you can make it too if you are so inspired). I think it is going to be a real winner at the party tomorrow night, if the batter is anything to go by. And by the way, it’s a personal rule of mine that I have to lick the spoon, no matter how many raw eggs there are, I’m sorry, tough! Here’s a picture so you can get an idea of how it turns out (though the picture with the recipe online is more appetizing, if I’m being truthful).
Next time you’re feeling a little homesick or your house / apartment is missing that extra umph, just try whipping up a batch of muffins or a cake. It’s the easiest thing in the world and it’ll make you feel so much better.
P.S. I only ever make things from scratch, just try it, it’s seriously only a few more steps than the box mixes and you’ll feel so much better knowing exactly what you’re putting into your body, even if it’s just more sugar, eggs, and butter. =)

Explore posts in the same categories: baking, Food

6 Comments on “Cinnamon-Apple Cake, yes please!”

  1. Klara Says:

    Well, I am looking forward that one!! Teagan, can I call it desert (this time only?) 😉

  2. Cara Says:

    Oh man, I knew I should have forced myself to swing by the party! Maybe I’ll have cinnamon-sugar toast for dinner tonight – does that count as domestic? 😉

  3. e Says:

    Tegan –

    Is this the same recipe you brought to our Food blogger potluck?? It was delicious. Very soft and moist crumb, which is what makes homemade cakes so awesome.
    It was great meeting you!

  4. taylor Says:

    Oh, that cake was good! Nice meeting you!

  5. Andre Says:

    That really was a great cake. I loved that it had a little bit of sour cream (?) or something to make it a little different. It was also really moist and if there’s one thing I like it’s moist and/or creamy desserts.

  6. Klara Says:

    So Teagan – where is the recipe? I have my apples ready 🙂


Leave a Reply

