Chinatown conspiracy

Now, I don’t want to get off on a rant here, (as Dennis Miller would say) but I was in Chinatown for lunch this afternoon and something really pissed me off. I often take a trip to Chinatown to treat myself to bubble tea and buns. This is definitely a routine of mine and I have my two spots that I always go to (though occasionally I feel like I should try a new place so I’ll go elsewhere). In general though, I pretty much always go to K.C. Pastries (the one on 10th) for buns, choosing two of the ones they have on offer (I like the chicken curry, bbq pork, pineapple coconut, pineapple red bean, or taro) and then I go to the Hong Kong bakery for their awesome bubble tea which is essentially a fresh fruit smoothie with the chewy tapioca balls in the bottom (not that you have to get the “bubbles” if you don’t want them). All fine, well and good.

Here’s where things started to go wrong, they’ve apparently decided to up the prices on everything all across Chinatown. Before I would pay $3.70 for my entire lunch and leave a fully satisfied and happy person, but today, these items now cost me $4.75, that’s an almost 30% increase in price. Now I know you’re thinking, it’s still less than $5 for lunch, how can you really complain? On some level that’s true, but the thing that got to me was that it was clearly a community-wide decision to increase prices by this much. I even went into another couple bakeries just to scope it out. I know that there is a central restaurant organization across Chinatown and this must be a mutual decision that they came to, but I have to voice my opinion that I’m seriously disappointed. Hi, can you say grad student, living below the poverty line? It’s not that this is going to stop me from going to Chinatown, it’s just that I might not go as often and it certainly won’t feel like such a sweet treat.  Of course, that’s just my opinion. I could be wrong.

Explore posts in the same categories: Food

Leave a Reply

