Cooking is good for the soul…

Cooking is good for the soul. I’m sure you’ve heard that before, but I can attest to it. Sometimes, when I have a moment to breathe, I have this unstoppable urge to cook till I drop, to make all the recipes that I’ve been thinking about for weeks or months, and sometimes more. When I really tune into the cook within, there is a lot of energy and knowledge that I have yet to explore. So I find it really fulfilling when I have the opportunity and the inclination to just set aside a big chunk of my time to cook, and cook, and cook, and cook. Which, you’ll no doubt guess, is what I’ve been doing for the last few days. I have made, in the space of two afternoons / evenings, three different soups, two kinds of green beans, a berry crumble, a puttanesca sauce, and a butternut squash, pancetta, and porcini mushroom ravioli. I have enough food to feed an army, thank goodness for the freezer; I mean I live on my own for crying out loud. I practically have to have a dinner party now to get some of this food eaten, though I’m sure I could manage it on my own if need be. I really don’t know what has gotten into me to be honest. For one thing, I often find it frustrating to try and prepare particular recipes in Philly because you invariably have to go to three or four stores, in at least two parts of the city, to procure all the necessary ingredients. If you don’t have the foresight to plan ahead for ingredients you’ll need for recipes you want to make, or the time / patience to run around to all the different places, then a person can be easily deterred from making something. But when everything falls into place and for whatever reason you have the time and energy to really spend in your kitchen, my what fun it can be. I have to say I love playing with food, I do it all the time now, whether out at a restaurant (my parents have been embarrassed to be seen with me on several occasions in recent memory) or in my own kitchen. But it’s such a tactile and, I would argue, intimate experience, the relationship we have with our food, or at least we can have if we choose to be aware of it. This is in part why I am so enthralled by food as a topic in general, what it means to people, how they see it as a part of their lives, and how they reflect who they are off of their food choices. But what I really wanted to advocate here was indulgence in the love of food through a closer connection between you and what you eat. I know that cooking up a storm in my kitchen is completely comforting and enjoyable, time that I feel I am taking care of myself. Just some things to think about the next time you step into your kitchen to whip up a new recipe or two.

ravioli.jpg
Explore posts in the same categories: Food

One Comment on “Cooking is good for the soul…”

  1. Joe S. Says:

    Teagan, cannot agree with you more. I have always thought the process of preparing and sharing a meal as sacramental.

    I too find myself shopping all over the city to get the ingredients at the quality and price I want. But I suppose that is part of the fun.

    All the Best


Leave a Reply

